User Roles and Permissions

Control the level of access that your team members, vendors, and customers have in JobTread! Doing so can help you centralize your business so everyone is on the same page. You can either give access to specific tools and features based on user roles or provide users direct access to individual jobs, documents, or tasks.


Setting Up Role-Based Access

A role grants access to records and features in JobTread. Create roles for each type of JobTread user (ie. estimators, project managers, office personnel, customers, suppliers, subcontractors, etc.) and then assign users to each role. First navigate to your JobTread Settings and then click the Roles tab.

You have the option of creating roles for internal, paid JobTread users, customers, and vendors. A few default roles are already created for you to use if you would like to. Simply click on a default role to review and edit the permissions or create a new role by clicking + Add Role next to the section header.

Add or edit the name of the role and then begin selecting each permission that you would like to grant the users assigned to the role.

  • Admin - By toggling this on, you provide full access and permissions to the entire JobTread platform.
  • Customers - Choose whether the role has access to all customer data in JobTread or just the customers that they are directly assigned to (see the Direct Access section below for how to assign users to customers by assigning them to jobs). Also choose whether the role can create and update the customers they have access to.
  • Vendors - Choose whether the role has access to all vendor data in JobTread or just the vendors that they are directly assigned to (see the Direct Access section below for how to assign users to vendors by assigning them to jobs). Also choose whether the role can create and update the vendors they have access to.
  • Locations - Choose whether the role has access to all location data in JobTread or just the locations that they are directly assigned to (see the Direct Access section below for how to assign users to locations by assigning them to jobs). Also choose whether the role can create and update the locations they have access to.
  • Jobs - Access to jobs is dependant on access to locations or direct assignment to a job. Choose if the role has access to all job data in JobTread by selecting “User can access all jobs for locations they can access” and make sure that the location permissions allow for the access you would like to provide. Or limit access to the jobs that they are directly assigned to (see the Direct Access section below for how to assign users to jobs). Also choose whether the role can create and update the jobs they have access to and whether they can view the budgets for the jobs they can access.
  • Bid Requests, Customer Orders, Customer Invoices, Vendor Orders, and Vendor Bills - Choose whether the role can access the documents associated with the jobs in which they have been provided access or if they can only access each document that they have been directly assigned to (see the Direct Access section below for how to assign permission to individual documents). Then choose whether they have the ability to create, draft, and/or send the documents in which they have access.
  • Catalog - Choose if the role can view the catalog or not.
  • Tasks - Indicate if the role can view all tasks or just task groups in the jobs they are assigned to (see the Direct Access section below for how to assign users to jobs).
  • Files - Although the role can always upload files within the accounts, locations, jobs, and documents they have access to. Choose whether or not the role can view all the files, including those uploaded by others or just the files they uploaded.

Once you indicate each role's level of access to JobTread features, click the purple “Create” or “Update” button on the bottom, right to save your changes.

Assign Default Roles for Customers and Vendors

Customer and vendor role options are much more limited than internal users and any permissions granted will appear on the customer or vendor portals. When creating or editing these roles, you will select which role you would like to be automatically assigned to new external users when you send your first document to them. Do so by clicking the toggle next to “Use as the default role for new customers” within the selected role.

You may assign customers and vendors to alternate roles using the steps listed below.

Assign Roles to Users

After you have created roles and designated permissions, begin assigning individual users to each role within the Members tab in your JobTread Settings. Internal, paid users are listed on the left and Customer and Vendor users are listed on the right.

Each user’s current role is listed next to their name (if they are not yet assigned a role, it will say “+ Set Role”). To edit the role, simply click on the current role and select an alternative role from the dropdown list.

Within the Members tab, you also have the ability to quickly convert an internal user to an external user (customer or vendor) or to convert a customer or vendor to an internal user by clicking the crossed arrow button next to the user role.

Add New Users to JobTread

Now that you can customize JobTread access, centralize your business by adding all your team members! Simply click on your JobTread Settings and add users in the Members tab. Add internal users by clicking the + Add Internal User option on the top of the list. Enter their name, email address, and select the role in which you would like them to be assigned.

Customers and Vendors will be automatically added to the members tab once you add them to the Customer or Vendor directory or send them a document through JobTread.


Provide Direct Access to Specific Records

Share individual jobs, documents, and tasks with specific team members, customers, or vendors. This provides access to the single record in addition to the access granted through their assigned role.

Provide Access to Entire Job

Navigate to the job in which you would like to provide access. Locate the heading that says “Direct Access” beneath the job’s description and custom fields. Click + Add User then begin typing the name of the Internal User or Vendor to locate them. Click on their name and they will be granted direct access to the job. The role assigned to the user will dictate the detailed access within the job. The user will receive an email notification indicated that a document was shared with them.

You can view the users with direct access to the job and then click > Other Users with Access to view a list of internal users who have access to the job based on their pre-assigned user role.

Provide Access to a Document

You may provide direct access to a document when it is draft state or approved state. Create or navigate to the document, then locate the heading that says “Direct Access”. Click + Add User then begin typing the name of the Internal User or Vendor to locate them. Click on their name and they will be granted direct access to the document. The user will receive an email notification indicated that a document was shared with them.

You can view the users with direct access to the document and then click > Other Users with Access to view a list of internal users who have access to the job based on their pre-assigned user role.

Provide Access to Tasks

Assign internal users directly to individual tasks in the job’s Schedule tab. Create a task by clicking + New Task, name the task, choose the start and end dates, then click Add assignee… Select the user from the dropdown menu. You can add multiple users to a single task by repeating the same step. Then click Create to save the task.

Tasks assigned to each user will be listed in their Tasks tool located in their JobTread toolbar.